More than volunteers

This year, once again, I am proud to present the accomplishments of the Association des bénévoles and its vital contribution to Hôpital Montfort.

Let’s start with some numbers: in 2018-2019, the Association welcomed 421 volunteers. Among these volunteers, it was able to count on the support of 255 hard-working and loyal people, devoted to serving the hospital on a regular and constant basis. They generously devoted 48,264 hours of volunteer service. In addition, 70 high school students chose Montfort to perform the hours required for the Ministry of Education’s volunteer program in Ontario. In all, they provided 3,170 hours of service in the summer of 2018.

Moreover, the Association contributed $55,670.19 for the purchase of several pieces of equipment.

Our volunteers are truly devoted and committed. Day after day, they do so much more than just perform their duties. Always ready to go beyond needs, they are eager to take initiative and know how to add a personal touch to the services they provide.

The Association’s Board of Trustees wrapped up its operational plan and launched several new and original activities. Its members invested their talent, commitment and determination to the success of these initiatives. And I am proud to mention that a few weeks ago, the Association’s Board of Trustees was selected as one of the three finalists for the Outstanding Volunteer Program Award presented by Volunteer Ottawa at the VOscars.

I would like to sincerely thank the members of the hospital’s management as well as our colleagues at Volunteer Services for their support. But, of course, my most heartfelt gratitude and congratulations go to our invaluable volunteers. Their pride in belonging to the Montfort family is seen through the generosity, commitment and compassion that guide their every action.

Adèle Copti-Fahmy
Chair of the Association des bénévoles de l’Hôpital Montfort

2018-2019 Board of Trustees of Hôpital Montfort’s Association des bénévoles

Chair : Adèle Copti-Fahmy
Vice-chair : Luc Goudreault
Secretary : Pauline Gagnon
Director of Finance and Treasurer : Denyse Brisson
Members : Louise Bourgault, Ann Bowen, Denis Lajoie, Marthe Loyer, Diane Lefebvre, Brigitte Legare, Sister Linda Joseph, F.d.l.S, Marc Seguin